Halal status of enzymes used in food industry

dc.contributor.authorErmiş, Ertan
dc.contributor.authorErmiş, Ertan
dc.date.accessioned2019-08-31T12:10:23Z
dc.date.accessioned2019-08-13T09:37:43Z
dc.date.available2019-08-31T12:10:23Z
dc.date.available2019-08-13T09:37:43Z
dc.date.issued2017
dc.departmentMühendislik ve Doğa Bilimleri Fakültesi
dc.descriptionWOS: 000403031300007
dc.description.abstractBackground: Enzymes are extensively and increasingly used in research and food processing as important processing aids/biocatalysts. They can be produced by microorganisms through fermentation and can also be extracted from animal or plant tissues. Halal status of enzymes for industrial application is vague to consumers since they may not be properly traced back to their source of origin or production method. Scope and approach: This review focuses on Halal related issues of enzymes i.e. used during industrial processing for food, feed, pharmaceutical and other consumer goods, with a particular focus on fermentation processes that might pose risks to Halal assurance. Key findings and conclusions: The status of enzymes including the raw materials used and the current production methods is needed to facilitate Halal food production and comply with religious demands. Enzymes derived from Haram (not allowed) animals or from raw materials obtained from Haram sources are considered to be Haram. Whereas, enzymes derived from microorganisms during fermentation are considered to be Halal if the raw materials or any other ingredients used in the growth medium and in the final product are not from Haram or doubtful sources. If genetically modified (GM) microorganisms are used for enzyme production, recombinant DNA should not be from Haram or doubtful sources. (C) 2017 Elsevier Ltd. All rights reserved.
dc.identifier.doi10.1016/j.tifs.2017.04.008
dc.identifier.endpage73
dc.identifier.issn0924-2244
dc.identifier.orcidErtan Ermiş |0000-0002-1461-7357
dc.identifier.scopusqualityQ1
dc.identifier.startpage69
dc.identifier.urihttp://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.tifs.2017.04.008
dc.identifier.urihttps://hdl.handle.net/20.500.12436/1012
dc.identifier.volume64
dc.identifier.wosqualityN/A
dc.indekslendigikaynakWeb of Science
dc.indekslendigikaynakScopus
dc.institutionauthorErmiş, Ertan
dc.language.isoen
dc.publisherElsevier Science London
dc.relation.ispartofTrends in Food Science & Technology
dc.relation.publicationcategoryDiğer
dc.rightsinfo:eu-repo/semantics/closedAccess
dc.subjectEnzymes
dc.subjectHalal assurance
dc.subjectHalal standards
dc.subjectFood additives
dc.subjectFermentation
dc.subjectExtraction
dc.titleHalal status of enzymes used in food industry
dc.typeReview Article
dspace.entity.typePublication
relation.isAuthorOfPublication2d5b742a-7a4f-48ab-ab79-4250f6dc505c
relation.isAuthorOfPublication.latestForDiscovery2d5b742a-7a4f-48ab-ab79-4250f6dc505c

Dosyalar

Orijinal paket

Listeleniyor 1 - 1 / 1
Yükleniyor...
Küçük Resim
İsim:
Ermis-2017-Halal-status-of-enzymes-used-in-foo.pdf
Boyut:
309.12 KB
Biçim:
Adobe Portable Document Format
Açıklama:
Tam Metin / Full Text